can’t wait!

MBFWA is less than a week away. I am incredibly disorganised, haven’t really figured out anything except where I’m staying. What am I going to wear? I do not know. What I do know is, I’m way too excitable. I’m so happy that all of these amazing labels are showing at MBFWA this year – would love to see all of these amazing shows.

Flowers for a Vagabond

Every single image you see from FfaV has such incredible movement and such beautiful energy. I adore the gorgeous silks and materials that designer Toby chooses. I cant wait to see what he gives us for Winter 2012.

Aje

Aje’s mix of luxury and edge results in a sort of disheveled elegance. Aje is always ahead of trends, and is becoming more and more popular with the youth of Australia. It might have something to do with Kate Moss wearing one of their jackets to Splendour in the Grass.. or it might be because these guys are just plain awesome.  I can’t wait to see what they have to offer us this year, because I’ve loved so many of Aje’s previous collections.

Bowie

You can tell Bowie was once involved in theatre and stage costume: his gorgeous creations are always a step beyond. Now creating couture, bridal and pret-a-porter designs, his pieces are always cutting-edge, and his shows are to be seen to be believed. I managed to miss out on the Bowie show last year at RAFW, so I’m really looking forward to seeing his undoubtedly fantastic collection this year.

Tovah | Kahlo
(both showing at the New Generation 1 show)

I’m a huge fan of Tovah – their unique collections are always a pleasure to look at. From following them on Facebook, it seems Tovah’s collection encompasses print and a sport-luxe vibe, with blues, peaches, and a gorgeous custom print. Cannot wait to see this collection in real life!

Kahlo is another of my favourites. Their attention to simple details, and gorgeously crafted pieces never fail to amaze. Fashion Toast’s Rumi Neely became a fan last time she was in Australia too! I’m very excited to see what Kahlo brings out next week.

An Ode to No one

In an interview with The Vine, designer Adi Setiadi said that his work with digital prints has recently ‘increased dramatically’, and that a lot of his inspiration for the prints in the  new collection comes from Antarctica and polar ice-caps. An ode to global warming. Absolutely gorgeous, with a powerful message. I so badly want to see this show – An Ode to No One is one of my favourite Australian labels.

Stephanie Goerlach | Carlie Waterman
(both showing at The Innovators show)

I recently discovered Stephanie Goerlach as being the creator of this jumper (pictured below) featured in The Urban Silhouette shoot, ‘Avant-Garde’. I thought the craftsmanship and innovation of this piece was just incredible, so I investigated further. I squealed with delight when I received my invitation to the Innovators show – I can’t WAIT to see her collection, ‘Tibbity’ on the runway. Remember her name people, seriously.


Phebe Rendulic Photography

After I received my invitation to The Innovators, I investigated into the other designers showing. Carlie Waterman is one of those designers that you cannot stop staring at their work, until someone physically interrupts you. For someone so young, she has incredible maturity in her pieces, and such a fantastically unique sense of design. Gorgeous. I really am so looking forward to this show!

Some of the images I have posted are from previous collections as images havent been released yet from some of these amazing designers. All are from each label’s Facebook page or website, or from The Urban Silhouette.

Wish me serious luck – today was the last day I had to get outfits together and pack. It’s now 8pm. Still haven’t done much of either. Ahhh… standard Chloe. Cx

One thought on “can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

