inspired by a rei of sunshine

Comme des Garcons is one of my favourite labels of all time. I think Rei Kawakubo is a innovative genius, and I love her unconditionally. However, on a freelance writer/model budget, I have not yet been able to buy my first piece of CDG. Which devastates me obviously, but I live in hope that one day I shall be able to hang one of Rei’s incredible designs in my wardrobe.

In the mean time, I will have to be inspired by her and her label. I absolutely love the AW 12/13 collection, that eccentricly accentuates forms and curves of the body, and looks as though it is lifted away from the body. I saw this pink sheer shirt in an opshop, and it was abviously some kind of dance costume or something, it’s completely unlabelled and looks handsown, but it reminded me so much of the silhouettes in the CDG winter 2012 show. So paired with another of my opshop favourites, my acid green skirt, I shall live as eccentrically as Rei herself.

I wore this outfit to the Advantage SA Young Designer Showcase, at the end of AFF. In these photos however, I added my ASOS beanie, as these photos were taken before I’d cut off all my hair! I’ve teamed it with my vintage Chanel belt from boutique Claire Inc., and ‘Honey’ by Verali heels, from Sole Desire Shoes.

Huge thanks to Phebe Rendulic for taking these photos for me, and big thanks to Samantha Vlassis for doing my excellent makeup!

Cx

One thought on “inspired by a rei of sunshine

Leave a Reply

